Skip to main content

This page outlines the sustainability statement of the University of Edinburgh Business School along with details of our Ethics, Responsibility and Sustainability Committee.

Embedding and integrating sustainability in our research, learning, teaching and operations is one of the five values of the University of Edinburgh Business School. Encouraging sustainable thinking is essential to our mission of developing conscientious leaders with an awareness of the world around them. Our sustainability culture also contributes to our vision of being progressive and pioneering on the international business stage. Inspirational and responsible engagement with staff, students, the community and the environment promotes a holistic positive impact. We work closely with and are guided by the University's Social Responsibility and Sustainability Department (SRS) to ensure we align with wider University strategy.

More About the University's SRS Department

In 2018 the Business School was awarded a Silver Office Sustainability Award from the University of Edinburgh's Department of Social Responsibility and Sustainability.

Participating in the Sustainability Awards enabled sharing of the sustainability activity already taking place in the School, further developed sustainability working activity, and promoted staff and student collaboration towards a common goal of both the award and embedded sustainable working practices. It is our intention to continue this work and complete a Gold Award in the future.

Committee Members

The Ethics, Responsibility and Sustainability Committee consists of the following people:

  • Kenneth Amaeshi
  • Matthew Brander
  • Freya Brooks
  • Will Chicken
  • Ros Claase
  • Rona Doig
  • Chris Gallacher
  • Georgina Jamieson
  • Llinos Jones
  • Winston Kwon
  • Claudia Monteiro
  • Stephanie O'Donohoe
  • Steven Roberts
  • Inger Seiferheld